1. Skip to content
  2. Skip to main menu
  3. Skip to more DW sites
A sign reading Schengen below a 50 km/h sign
Image: ATP/picture alliance

Schengen area

The area comprises 27 European countries which abolished controls at internal borders implemented in 1995. It resembles a single state for international travel purposes with external border controls and common visas.

Skip next section Reports & Analysis

Reports & Analysis

Show more