1. Skip to content
  2. Skip to main menu
  3. Skip to more DW sites
EU flags at the EU summit in Brussels.
Image: Virginia Mayo/AP Photo/picture alliance

European Union (EU)

The European Union is a economic and political association of 27 countries in Europe. The European Parliament meets to debate and vote on laws in Strasbourg, but Brussels is home to most of the European institutions.

Skip next section Reports & Analysis

Reports & Analysis

Show more